For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. Every page on this site is also served as Markdown: append `.md` to any URL, or send `Accept: text/markdown`.

Otterly.AI vs Promptwatch at the entry end of AI visibility

Two of the cheapest published AI visibility tools compared on entry price, prompt allowances, assistant coverage, API access and what each pricing page declines to state.

Last updated: 2026-09-03By Karl-Gustav Kallasmaa
otterly.ai logo

Otterly.AI

An AI search monitoring tool sold in four tiers whose defining variable is the number of tracked search prompts, from fifteen on the cheapest plan upward, with the same four assistants watched on every tier and unlimited team members throughout.

Checked 2026-09-03
promptwatch.com logo

Promptwatch

An AI search visibility tool sold in four flat monthly tiers including a free one, positioned toward agencies, publishing prices for every tier but no per-tier allowances.

Checked 2026-09-03

Which one should you choose?

Both sit at the affordable end of the category and both publish prices, but only one publishes what the price buys. Otterly ties every tier to a stated number of search prompts and a fixed four-assistant list; Promptwatch publishes four prices and leaves prompts, seats and per-tier coverage unstated while claiming to monitor all AI models. The choice comes down to whether you would rather have a bounded, checkable allowance or an unbounded, uncheckable claim.

Choose Otterly.AI when

Choose Otterly.AI when you want to know exactly what you are buying, because every tier states its prompt count, or when API and MCP access matters, since both are named from the middle tier upward.

Choose Promptwatch when

Choose Promptwatch when the four assistants Otterly names are not enough and you need Claude, Grok or Gemini watched, or when you are an agency, since Promptwatch positions itself for multiple brands and starts a paid tier at $95.

When neither is the right answer

Neither is a good fit for a large prompt set on a small budget. Otterly's fifteen-prompt entry tier is too narrow for most B2B categories, and Promptwatch's cheapest paid tier does not tell you whether it is wide enough. Both push a serious programme toward their middle tiers or beyond.

What is specific to this comparison

  • Otterly.AI publishes a prompt count against every tier and Promptwatch publishes none, so these two pricing pages disagree about what an AI visibility subscription is a subscription to.
  • Otterly.AI names exactly four assistants and holds that list constant across every plan, while Promptwatch claims to monitor all AI models and names Claude and Grok, which sit outside Otterly's published four. The coverage gap between these two is specific and nameable rather than a matter of degree.
  • Otterly.AI states a floor for its enterprise conversation, starting from $1,000 per month, whereas Promptwatch's top published tier is $579 with a custom option above it. Only one of these two tells you where the sales conversation begins.
  • Otterly.AI is the only side of this pairing that names MCP access on its pricing page, which matters if you intend to read visibility data from inside an AI assistant rather than from a dashboard.

Otterly.AI vs Promptwatch, criterion by criterion

Commercial
Cheapest paid plan, published
Yes$29/month, LiteSource, checked 2026-09-03
Coverage
Prompt allowance stated per tier
Yes15 on Lite, 100 on Standard, 400 on PremiumSource, checked 2026-09-03
Commercial
Way in at zero cost
PartialFree trial stated, no commitmentSource, checked 2026-09-03
Coverage
Assistants watched
PartialFour, named, same on every tierSource, checked 2026-09-03
Team
Seats stated on the pricing page
YesUnlimited team members on every planSource, checked 2026-09-03
Product
API access named on the pricing page
YesAPI and MCP access from StandardSource, checked 2026-09-03
Commercial
Annual discount published
Yes15 percent off; Lite $25, Standard $160Source, checked 2026-09-03
Commercial
Floor of the enterprise conversation
YesCustom, stated as starting from $1,000/monthSource, checked 2026-09-03
Coverage
Prompts at the top self-serve tier
Yes400 search prompts on Premium, $489/monthSource, checked 2026-09-03
Commercial
Trial terms, as distinct from a free plan
PartialFree trial stated; length not publishedSource, checked 2026-09-03
Product
Intended buyer named by the vendor
Not documentedNot narrowed; unlimited seats on every planSource, checked 2026-09-03

Two cheap ways in that are not the same product

Most comparisons in this category are between products aimed at companies with a procurement process. This one is not. Otterly.AI and Promptwatch are both reachable by a marketing team with a corporate card, and both publish enough on their pricing pages to be evaluated without a call. That makes the differences unusually easy to see, and unusually decisive.

Otterly.AI's pricing page, fetched on 3 September 2026, sells search prompts. Lite is $29 a month for fifteen. Standard is $189 for a hundred. Premium is $489 for four hundred. Enterprise is custom, stated as starting from $1,000 a month. Every tier tracks the same four assistants — ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot — and every tier carries unlimited team members. Annual billing takes 15 percent off, bringing Lite to $25, Standard to $160 and Premium to $422.

Promptwatch's pricing page, fetched the same day, sells subscriptions. Explore is $0. Essential is $95. Professional is $245. Business is $579. There is a custom option, and a toggle separating brands from agencies. What the page does not carry is a prompt count, a seat count, or a per-tier statement of which models are watched. Its site says the product monitors all AI models and names ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude and Grok among them.

Those are two different theories of what you are buying. Otterly thinks you are buying a measured quantity of monitoring. Promptwatch thinks you are buying access to a tool. Both are defensible, and they lead to very different evaluations.

The allowance question, which is the whole comparison

If you can only look at one row, look at this one. Otterly tells you what its price buys and Promptwatch does not.

The practical consequence is that an Otterly quote can be turned into a cost per tracked prompt and a Promptwatch quote cannot. At $189 for a hundred prompts, Otterly Standard is a number you can defend in a budget meeting and revisit when your prompt set grows. Promptwatch Professional at $245 might be much better value or much worse, and nothing on the page settles it.

This cuts against Promptwatch in a shortlist, but it is worth being precise about what the criticism is. It is not that Promptwatch is expensive — it may well not be. It is that the page does not let you find out, so a buyer who needs to model cost against a growing prompt set has to open a conversation to do arithmetic that Otterly lets them do in a browser tab. For a self-serve purchase, that is real friction, and it is the reason a lot of teams shortlist Otterly and never get as far as asking Promptwatch.

The reverse criticism applies to Otterly and is just as real: a published allowance is only reassuring if the allowance is enough. Fifteen prompts is not a category. It is a handful of queries you have decided in advance are the important ones, which assumes you already know which queries matter — often the very thing you bought the tool to find out. Otterly's honest entry point for a real programme is Standard, at $189, and that lands above Promptwatch's Essential at $95.

Coverage: four named assistants against an unbounded claim

Otterly names four assistants and holds the list constant across every tier. ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Nothing on the pricing page indicates that a more expensive plan watches more of them; what you buy as you move up is prompts.

Promptwatch states that it monitors all AI models, and its site names ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude and Grok among them.

Two of those named models — Claude and Grok — do not appear on Otterly's published list at all. This is the one place in this comparison where the difference is not a matter of packaging philosophy but of what the product does. If your buyers ask Claude about your category, or if Gemini matters to you, Otterly's published four does not cover it and Promptwatch's stated list does. That is a concrete reason to choose Promptwatch, and it does not depend on price.

The counterweight is enforceability. "All AI models" is a claim with no boundary, and the pricing page does not attach it to a tier. Otterly's four is a smaller promise that is easier to hold the vendor to. In an evaluation, ask Promptwatch to confirm in writing which models your plan actually watches, and treat the answer, not the homepage line, as the fact.

What the pages say about who is buying

Promptwatch names its buyer out loud: agencies managing AI search for multiple brands. Its price ladder is consistent with that, since a $95 tier can be attached to a client engagement in a way that a $295 floor cannot, and the pricing page carries a brands-versus-agencies toggle.

Otterly does not narrow its buyer on the page, but the shape of the product implies one. Unlimited team members on every plan, including the $29 tier, plus API and MCP access from Standard upward, describes a team that wants the data somewhere other than the vendor's dashboard. The MCP line is the most interesting detail on either page: it means visibility data can be read from inside an AI assistant, which is a small but genuinely differentiated capability that Promptwatch's pricing page does not mention.

The trial and the free tier are not the same offer

Otterly states that a free trial is provided for new users with no commitment required before purchase. It does not state a length. Promptwatch offers a plan priced at zero rather than a time-boxed trial, which never expires but whose limits the page does not describe.

For this category, the free plan is the better structure in principle, because AI visibility numbers only stabilise over weeks and a short trial often ends before the data means anything. But Promptwatch's version gives you no way to know in advance what the free plan will let you see, so the advantage is theoretical until you sign up. Otterly's is time-bounded but at least tells you which product you are trying, because its tiers are explicit.

The middle of the ladder, where most teams actually land

Entry tiers get the attention and middle tiers get the money, so it is worth walking the ladder properly.

Otterly's ladder is arithmetic. Fifteen prompts at $29, a hundred at $189, four hundred at $489, and an enterprise conversation stated as starting from $1,000 a month. Divide those out and the cost per tracked prompt falls sharply as you climb — the Lite tier is by far the most expensive per prompt, and Premium the cheapest of the self-serve three. That is the normal shape of volume pricing, and it means Otterly rewards a team that knows its prompt set is going to grow. Annual billing takes a further 15 percent off, publishing $25, $160 and $422 as the discounted monthly rates, which is a discount you can budget against rather than negotiate for.

Promptwatch's ladder is $0, $95, $245, $579 and custom, with no allowance attached to any rung. What that means practically is that you cannot tell whether moving from Essential to Professional buys you more prompts, more brands, more models, more history, or something else entirely. The page presents the ladder as a progression and does not say what progresses.

Between the two, the interesting overlap is around $189 to $245. Otterly Standard at $189 gives you a hundred prompts, four assistants, unlimited seats, and API plus MCP access. Promptwatch Professional at $245 gives you a tool that says it monitors all AI models, including Claude and Grok, and does not say how many prompts it will monitor them for. If your category lives on ChatGPT and Perplexity, the Otterly side of that trade is easy to justify. If your buyers are developers who ask Claude, the Promptwatch side is, and no amount of published arithmetic changes it.

The enterprise floors are worth noting too, because they are rarely published at all. Otterly states that its custom tier starts from $1,000 a month. Promptwatch's Business tier is $579 with a custom option above it and no stated floor. Knowing where the sales conversation begins is genuinely useful when you are deciding whether to start one, and Otterly is the only side of this pairing that tells you.

Where each one wins

Otterly.AI wins on transparency and on unit economics. Every tier states its prompt count, seats are unlimited from $29, annual pricing is published, API and MCP access are named, and even the enterprise conversation has a published floor. A buyer can build the entire business case from the pricing page, which is rarer in this category than it should be.

Promptwatch wins on coverage and on entry. It names Claude and Grok, which Otterly's published list does not include; it has a genuinely free plan rather than a trial; and its paid ladder starts at $95, below the $189 tier where Otterly's prompt allowance becomes realistic for most categories. If you are an agency, it also says, in its own words, that it was built for you.

Neither is the right answer for a team with several hundred prompts and a tight budget. Otterly's four hundred prompts costs $489 a month and Promptwatch will not tell you what its equivalent is. That is the point at which this shortlist should widen rather than narrow.

Related reading: Promptwatch vs Athena covers the credit-metering alternative, Profound vs Peec covers the same transparency question a tier up, and Scrunch vs Profound covers what published allowances look like at enterprise prices.

Questions people ask

Otterly.AI's cheapest paid plan was $29 per month against Promptwatch's $95, both fetched on 3 September 2026. But Promptwatch also lists a $0 Explore plan, so the cheapest way into Promptwatch is free and the cheapest way into Otterly is a trial whose length the page does not state. Cheapest to start and cheapest to run are different questions here.

Its pricing page named ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot on every plan, and did not name Claude or Gemini. Promptwatch's site names Claude and Grok explicitly. If either of those assistants is central to your category, that is a concrete reason to prefer Promptwatch, and it is the clearest single difference between the two products.

The pricing page does not say, on any tier. That is not a criticism of the product, but it does mean you cannot compare it to Otterly's fifteen, one hundred and four hundred without asking. Anyone publishing a Promptwatch prompt allowance is quoting a number that is not on the pricing page.

Rarely. Fifteen tracked prompts covers a narrow slice of any B2B category once you account for variants, competitor-named queries and the different ways a buyer phrases the same need. Otterly's Lite tier is best understood as a way to watch a handful of critical prompts cheaply, not as a full programme. Its Standard tier at one hundred prompts is the realistic starting point for most teams.

Promptwatch says on its own site that it is built for agencies managing AI search for multiple brands, and it prices low enough for a per-client subscription. Otterly does not narrow its buyer, though unlimited team members on every plan is agency-friendly in its own way. On stated intent rather than on inference, Promptwatch.

Sources

Every claim on this page, with the page it came from and the date that page was read. Prices and feature lists change; these are what the source said on the date shown, not timeless facts.

  1. Otterly.AI's Lite plan was listed at $29 per month with 15 search prompts.15 search promptshttps://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  2. Otterly.AI's Standard plan was listed at $189 per month with 100 search prompts.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  3. Otterly.AI's Premium plan was listed at $489 per month with 400 search prompts.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  4. Otterly.AI's pricing page listed ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot as tracked on every plan.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  5. Otterly.AI's pricing page listed unlimited team members on every plan.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  6. Otterly.AI listed API access and MCP access from the Standard plan upward.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  7. Otterly.AI's pricing page states that a free trial is provided for new users, with no commitment required before purchase.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  8. Otterly.AI listed annual pricing at a 15 percent discount, bringing Lite to $25, Standard to $160 and Premium to $422 per month.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  9. Otterly.AI's Enterprise tier was listed as custom pricing starting from $1,000 per month.https://otterly.ai/pricing/ — read 2026-09-03
  10. Promptwatch's pricing page listed four plans, Explore at $0 per month, Essential at $95, Professional at $245 and Business at $579.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
  11. Promptwatch's cheapest listed plan, Explore, was priced at $0 per month.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
  12. Promptwatch's pricing page did not state a prompt allowance for any plan.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
  13. Promptwatch's pricing page did not state a seat or user allowance for any plan.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
  14. Promptwatch's site states that it monitors all AI models and names ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude and Grok among them, without splitting coverage by plan.Promptwatch monitors all AI models, ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude, Grok, etc.https://promptwatch.com/ — read 2026-09-03
  15. Promptwatch's site positions the product for agencies managing AI search for multiple brands.https://promptwatch.com/ — read 2026-09-03
  16. Promptwatch's pricing page stated no free trial period or terms; its zero-cost offer is a plan rather than a trial.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
  17. Promptwatch's pricing page did not name API access against any plan.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03