Scrunch AI vs Profound on published allowances and trial terms
Both publish prices at the upper end of AI visibility tooling. A comparison of Scrunch and Profound on prompt allowances, seats, assistant coverage, trial terms and what each tier actually includes.
Scrunch AI
An AI visibility platform sold in two published tiers plus Enterprise, priced with both annual and month-to-month rates and stating seat, prompt, persona and page-audit allowances against each tier.
Checked 2026-09-03Profound
An AI search visibility platform sold in three tiers whose defining variable is the number of answer engines tracked, from one on Starter to up to nine on Enterprise, with prompt and seat allowances stated on the two self-serve tiers.
Checked 2026-09-03Which one should you choose?
This is a rare pairing where both vendors publish prices and both publish allowances, so the comparison can be settled on numbers rather than on impressions. Scrunch's published tiers cost more but carry an order of magnitude more prompts, more seats and a wider assistant list; Profound's cost less and carry fewer of everything, with coverage rising as the tier does. On published pages, Scrunch offers more per dollar and Profound offers a lower floor.
Choose Scrunch AI when
Choose Scrunch AI when your prompt set runs into the hundreds, when you need more than three seats, or when you want to evaluate the real product first, since it publishes a seven-day trial of the Starter plan with no credit card and no reduction in prompt allowance.
Choose Profound when
Choose Profound when your budget cannot reach $250 a month, when you only care about ChatGPT and want a $99 published entry point, or when SOC 2 and SSO on the Enterprise tier are the terms your security review will ask about.
When neither is the right answer
If you need multiple brands tracked without a sales conversation, neither published page delivers it. Profound lists multiple companies as an Enterprise feature, and Scrunch's published tiers describe personas within one account rather than separate brands.
What is specific to this comparison
- At almost the same second-tier price, $417 against $399 per month, Scrunch AI's Growth plan publishes 700 custom prompts and 5 seats while Profound's Growth plan publishes 100 prompts and 3 seats. Two vendors landing within $20 of each other with a sevenfold difference in stated prompt allowance is specific to this pairing.
- Scrunch AI publishes complete trial terms, seven days of the full Starter plan with no credit card, while Profound publishes a free-trial button with no stated length or limits. This is the only pairing in the family where one side's trial can be planned in advance and the other's cannot.
- Profound holds both of its self-serve tiers to one region and one language, whereas Scrunch's pricing page states no geographic limit against its published tiers. A multi-market team hits a hard published ceiling on one side of this comparison and no stated ceiling on the other.
- Both vendors meter a second unit beyond prompts, but they meter different things — Scrunch sells personas and page audits, Profound sells agent credits. That reveals two different theories of what the tool is for, and it is a distinction that disappears if you swap either name out.
Scrunch AI vs Profound, criterion by criterion
The unusual thing about this pairing
Most comparisons in AI visibility tooling founder on the same problem: one or both vendors will not tell you what anything costs, so the writer either guesses or waffles. Scrunch AI and Profound both publish prices, and — more unusually — both publish what those prices include. That means this page can be settled on arithmetic, and the arithmetic is not ambiguous.
Scrunch's pricing page, fetched on 3 September 2026, lists Starter at $250 per month billed annually or $300 month-to-month, carrying three user licenses, 350 custom prompts, 1,000 industry prompts, three personas and five page audits. Growth is $417 annually or $500 month-to-month, with five licenses, 700 custom prompts, 2,500 industry prompts, five personas and ten page audits. Enterprise is custom and adds SAML and OIDC, an Enterprise Data API and a dedicated go-to-market team. The assistants named are ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews and Meta.
Profound's pricing page, fetched the same day, lists Starter at $99 per month billed yearly with 50 prompts tracked, ChatGPT only, one seat, one region, one language and 100 agent credits a month. Growth is $399 per month billed yearly with three answer engines, 100 prompts, 400 agent credits and three seats. Enterprise is custom, described as up to nine answer engines, and adds multiple companies tracked, SSO, SAML and SOC 2 compliance.
The row that decides it
Compare the second tiers, because they are priced within $20 of each other.
Scrunch Growth, $417 a month on annual billing: 700 custom prompts, 2,500 industry prompts, five seats, seven named assistants.
Profound Growth, $399 a month on annual billing: 100 prompts, three answer engines, three seats, one region, one language.
On the vendors' own published numbers, at effectively the same price, Scrunch states seven times the custom prompt allowance before the industry prompt pool is even counted, and it does not tier assistant coverage at all. There is no reading of those two pages on which Profound's Growth plan is the larger allowance.
We want to be careful about what that does and does not prove. A prompt is not a standardised unit across vendors; how often each one is sampled, across how many response generations, and how the results are aggregated all vary, and neither pricing page explains its sampling. It is entirely possible that a hundred Profound prompts are sampled far more intensively than seven hundred Scrunch ones, and that would change the value calculation completely. But that is a question you have to ask on a call, and until a vendor answers it, the published numbers are the only evidence anyone has. On the published numbers, Scrunch is the larger purchase at the same price.
Where Profound genuinely wins
Two places, and both are real.
The first is the floor. Profound's $99 Starter has no equivalent on Scrunch's page, where the cheapest published route in is $250 a month on an annual commitment or $300 monthly. For a small team, a solo founder, or anyone testing whether AI visibility monitoring is worth a budget line at all, $99 against $250 is not a rounding difference. Profound's Starter is narrow — fifty prompts, ChatGPT only, one seat, one region — but it exists, and Scrunch has published nothing at that level.
The second is the security posture at the top. Profound's Enterprise tier names SOC 2 compliance explicitly alongside SSO and SAML. Scrunch's Enterprise names SAML and OIDC and an Enterprise Data API but no compliance certification on the pricing page. If your purchase will pass through a security questionnaire, a named certification on a public page shortens a conversation that otherwise takes weeks. That is not a small operational advantage even when the underlying products are similar.
Profound also meters something Scrunch does not: agent credits, a hundred a month on Starter and four hundred on Growth. Scrunch meters personas and page audits instead. Those two choices tell you what each vendor thinks the product is for — Profound is metering work done on your behalf, Scrunch is metering the number of buyer viewpoints and pages you can analyse. Neither page publishes enough to compare their value, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
The trial, and why it decides more evaluations than it should
Scrunch publishes complete trial terms: seven days of the Starter plan, instant signup, no credit card, and the full allowance — 350 custom prompts, three personas, five page audits, three user licenses. You can plan around that. You know before you start what you will be able to see and how long you have.
Profound's Growth plan carries a free-trial button. The pricing page does not state the length, the limits, or whether a card is required.
In a category where the only meaningful evaluation is against your own brand and your own prompts, this is a bigger practical difference than most feature rows. A seven-day full-allowance trial with no card is enough to load a real prompt set and see whether the numbers are plausible. An unspecified trial requires an email exchange before you know whether it is worth starting.
Seven days is also short, and worth naming as a limitation of Scrunch's offer rather than an unqualified win. AI visibility measurements move slowly and a week gives you a snapshot rather than a trend. What it does give you is a look at the real instrument, at full allowance, which is more than most of this category offers.
Geography, which is easy to miss
Profound's published self-serve tiers each state one region and one language. Regions become custom only on Enterprise. If you sell into three markets, both of Profound's purchasable plans have a ceiling you will hit immediately, and clearing it means a sales conversation.
Scrunch's pricing page does not state a geographic limit against its published tiers. That is not a promise of unlimited coverage — silence on a pricing page is silence, not a commitment — but it does mean the multi-market team hits a documented wall on one side of this comparison and an open question on the other. Ask during the seven-day trial.
Industry prompts and custom prompts are not the same thing
Scrunch publishes two prompt numbers per tier and the difference between them is easy to skim past. Starter carries 350 custom prompts and 1,000 industry prompts; Growth carries 700 and 2,500.
Custom prompts are the ones you write — the specific questions you believe your buyers ask, in the words they use. Industry prompts are supplied rather than authored. Both are useful, and they answer different questions. The custom set tells you how you perform on the queries you have decided matter. The supplied set tells you how you perform across a category you did not define, which is where most brands find the gaps they did not know about.
For a like-for-like comparison against Profound's numbers, the custom figure is the one to use, because Profound's prompts are prompts you configure. That still leaves 350 against 50 on the entry tiers and 700 against 100 on the second tiers. The industry pool is then additional coverage on Scrunch's side that has no equivalent line on Profound's page at all.
Two cautions. First, a large supplied prompt pool is only valuable if the prompts are relevant to your category, and neither the pricing page nor any outside observer can tell you whether Scrunch's industry set covers yours well. Ask to see it during the trial. Second, page audits — five on Starter, ten on Growth — are a much smaller number than the prompt counts and may be the real constraint if your remediation work is page-by-page. A plan with 700 prompts and ten audits is telling you where you are weak far faster than it is helping you fix it.
What both pages leave out
Neither vendor publishes its sampling method, and it is the single most important undisclosed variable in this comparison. A prompt tracked once a week and a prompt tracked daily across five response generations are different products sold under the same word. Because AI assistants return different answers to the same question on different runs, the number of samples behind a reported figure determines whether that figure means anything at all. Ask both vendors, in writing, how often each prompt is run and how many generations are aggregated into a reported score.
Neither publishes what happens after the measurement either. Scrunch's page audits and Profound's agent credits both gesture at work being done, and neither page says what that work produces or how it is reviewed before it reaches your site. That is the question worth pressing on a call, because it is where the difference between a report and an outcome lives.
The verdict
If your prompt set runs into the hundreds, if you need more than three seats, or if you want to evaluate the real product before paying, Scrunch AI is the stronger purchase on published information, and at the second tier it is not close.
If your budget cannot reach $250 a month, if ChatGPT is the only assistant you care about, or if SOC 2 on a public page is what your security review will ask for, Profound is the one to look at, and its $99 floor has no counterpart on Scrunch's page.
If you need several distinct brands tracked, neither published page covers you. Profound puts multiple companies behind Enterprise, and Scrunch's personas are viewpoints within an account rather than separate brands. That requirement takes both of these into a sales conversation, and it is worth knowing that before you start one.
Related reading: Profound vs Peec covers Profound against a vendor that publishes no prices at all, Promptwatch vs Athena covers the credit-metered alternative, and Otterly vs Promptwatch covers the same allowance question at a much lower price point.
Where Attensira fits, and where it does not
Attensira is worth considering on one criterion these two do not compete on — whether the tool ships the change rather than reporting it. If your site is in a Git repository and you want the fix to arrive as a pull request you review before it merges, that is the comparison to run. On published prompt allowances at the top of the range, Scrunch's numbers are larger than ours.
See how Attensira compares to bothQuestions people ask
Sources
Every claim on this page, with the page it came from and the date that page was read. Prices and feature lists change; these are what the source said on the date shown, not timeless facts.
- Scrunch AI's Starter plan was listed at $250 per month billed annually, or $300 month-to-month.https://scrunch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Scrunch AI's Starter plan was listed with 3 user licenses, 350 custom prompts, 1,000 industry prompts, 3 personas and 5 page audits.3 user licenses, 350 custom prompts, 1,000 industry prompts, 3 personas, 5 page auditshttps://scrunch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Scrunch AI's Growth plan was listed at $417 per month billed annually or $500 month-to-month, with 5 user licenses, 700 custom prompts, 2,500 industry prompts, 5 personas and 10 page audits.https://scrunch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Scrunch AI's pricing page named ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews and Meta as tracked assistants.https://scrunch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Scrunch AI's pricing page states a 7-day free trial of the Starter plan with instant signup and no credit card required, carrying the full 350 custom prompts, 3 personas, 5 page audits and 3 user licenses.https://scrunch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Scrunch AI's Enterprise tier was listed as custom pricing adding SAML/OIDC, an Enterprise Data API and a dedicated go-to-market team.https://scrunch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Scrunch AI's published tiers meter personas, 3 on Starter and 5 on Growth, alongside prompts.https://scrunch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Profound's Starter plan was listed at $99 per month billed yearly, with 50 prompts tracked, ChatGPT only, 1 seat, 1 region and 1 language.https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Profound's Growth plan was listed at $399 per month billed yearly, with 3 answer engines tracked, 100 prompts tracked, 400 agent credits per month and 3 seats.https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Profound's plans escalate answer-engine coverage, from ChatGPT only on Starter to 3 on Growth and up to 9 on Enterprise.https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Profound's Growth plan carried a free-trial call to action; the pricing page did not state the trial's length, its limits or whether a card is required.Try for freehttps://www.tryprofound.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Profound's Enterprise tier was listed as custom, adding multiple companies tracked, SSO/SAML and SOC 2 compliance.https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Profound's pricing page meters agent credits, 100 per month on Starter and 400 on Growth, alongside prompts.https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Profound's Starter and Growth plans were each listed with 1 region and 1 language, with regions becoming custom on Enterprise.https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03