Promptwatch vs Athena, compared on published plans and metering
Promptwatch sells flat monthly tiers and Athena sells credits. A comparison of both pricing pages on entry cost, free access, model coverage and what each page leaves unstated.
Promptwatch
An AI search visibility tool sold in four flat monthly tiers, one of them free, positioned heavily toward agencies running several brands. Its pricing page publishes prices but not allowances.
Checked 2026-09-03Athena
by AthenaHQ
An AEO and GEO platform metered in credits rather than prompt counts, with a free tier carrying a starting credit grant and a paid tier that widens the number of AI models watched. Seats are unlimited on every plan.
Checked 2026-09-03Which one should you choose?
Both publish a price and both offer a way in at zero cost, which already puts this pairing ahead of most of the category on transparency. They differ on the unit of consumption. Promptwatch charges a flat monthly fee and does not publish what it buys you. Athena charges credits and publishes the credit count but not what a credit buys. Each page answers half the budgeting question, and they answer opposite halves.
Choose Promptwatch when
Choose Promptwatch when a predictable flat monthly invoice matters more than a metered one, when you are an agency running several brands, or when the $95 entry tier fits a budget that $295 does not.
Choose Athena when
Choose Athena when you want to run a real evaluation before any payment, because its free tier carries a stated credit grant, or when the number of AI models watched is the deciding criterion, since its paid tier states ten against a homepage list of eleven.
When neither is the right answer
If you need to forecast cost against a known prompt volume, neither page gets you there. Promptwatch publishes prices without allowances and Athena publishes credits without a conversion rate, so both require a sales or support conversation before a spreadsheet can be built.
What is specific to this comparison
- Promptwatch's top published tier costs less than Athena's cheapest paid tier, so the entire Promptwatch price ladder sits below the point where Athena's paid product begins. That is unusual even inside this category.
- Athena meters in credits and Promptwatch meters in nothing it publishes, so the two pages fail to answer the budgeting question in opposite directions — one gives you a unit with no rate, the other a rate with no unit.
- Athena's free tier states a credit grant and a model count, which makes it a bounded evaluation you can plan; Promptwatch's free tier states a price of zero and nothing else, which makes it an open question you have to answer by signing up.
- Promptwatch's own site names agencies running multiple brands as its intended buyer, while Athena's names unlimited members on every plan; one product is priced around the number of brands, the other around the number of models.
Promptwatch vs Athena, criterion by criterion
Two products that both tell you the price, and neither tells you the rate
Promptwatch and Athena are unusual in this category because both publish a number. That sounds like a low bar until you look across the rest of the AI visibility market, where the most common answer to "what does it cost" is a contact form. Starting from two pages that both carry prices makes the comparison sharper, because the disagreement moves from whether they will tell you to what they are telling you about.
Promptwatch's pricing page, fetched on 3 September 2026, lists four plans: Explore at $0 per month, Essential at $95, Professional at $245 and Business at $579, with a custom option alongside and a toggle separating brands from agencies. The prices are unambiguous. What the page does not carry is allowances — no prompt counts, no seat counts, no per-tier model list. You know what the invoice says and not what it buys.
Athena's pricing page, fetched the same day, lists three: a free Essential plan carrying $25 of free credit and 300 credits across five AI models, a Starter plan at $295 per month with 3,600 credits and visibility across ten AI models, and a custom Enterprise tier. Every plan states unlimited members. The unit is credits, and the page publishes how many you get.
The gap in Athena's page is the other half of the same question: it never says what a credit buys. Three thousand six hundred credits a month is a precise number attached to an undefined unit. Promptwatch's page is the mirror image, a precise price attached to an undefined allowance. Neither page, on its own, lets a buyer build a cost-per-prompt model, and any article that gives you one is filling in a blank the vendors left.
The price ladders do not overlap
This is the fact that decides most of these evaluations, and it is worth stating without decoration. Promptwatch's most expensive published plan, Business at $579 per month, still sits above its own range but the whole ladder starts at $95. Athena's paid product starts at $295. So Promptwatch's Essential and Professional tiers are both below the point at which Athena's paid product begins, and a team with a monthly budget under $295 has exactly one of these two products available to it.
Above that line the picture changes shape rather than reversing. At $295 you can buy Athena Starter with 3,600 credits, ten models and unlimited seats, or Promptwatch Professional at $245 with prices published and allowances not. Which is the better purchase depends entirely on the credit conversion Athena has not published, and on the prompt allowance Promptwatch has not published. Two undisclosed numbers meeting in the middle is not a comparison anyone can settle from the outside, and we are not going to invent a winner for that row.
Free plans, and what each one is actually for
Both products have a way in at zero cost, and they are not the same kind of offer.
Athena's free Essential plan states its boundaries: $25 of free credit, 300 credits, five AI models, unlimited members, content recommendations. That is a bounded evaluation. You can decide before signing up roughly how far it will take you, and — critically — you can run it against your own brand and your own prompts, which is the only evaluation of an AI visibility tool that means anything.
Promptwatch's Explore plan states a price of $0 and, on the pricing page we fetched, not much else. It is presumably also a real way to see the product, but the page does not tell you how far it goes, which means the evaluation begins with a signup rather than with a decision to sign up.
Neither vendor published trial terms in the conventional sense — a length, a limit, a card requirement. Both instead have a free tier, which is arguably the better model for this category, because an AI visibility number only becomes meaningful after several weeks of samples and a fourteen-day window often expires before the data is interpretable. But it does mean that anyone comparing these two on "free trial" is comparing something neither page offers.
Model coverage, and the difference between a number and a claim
Athena publishes coverage as a per-tier number: five models free, ten on Starter, against a site list naming ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot, Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral, with more available on request.
Promptwatch publishes coverage as a claim: it monitors all AI models, and names ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude and Grok among them. There is no per-plan split.
Read carefully, these are different sorts of statement and the difference matters in an evaluation. A number tied to a tier is checkable — you can hold the vendor to ten. An unbounded claim is generous in spirit and unenforceable in practice, and it leaves you unable to tell whether the free plan and the $579 plan watch the same set. If model breadth is your deciding criterion, Athena's page gives you something to decide with and Promptwatch's does not.
That is a criticism of the page, not necessarily of the product. Promptwatch may well cover every model on every plan, which would be a genuinely strong position. It simply has not written it down in a form a buyer can rely on.
Positioning: brands versus models
The two sites disagree about who is buying.
Promptwatch's own copy names agencies managing AI search for multiple brands as its best fit, and its pricing page carries a brands-versus-agencies toggle. The price ladder supports that: at $95 a month, a per-client subscription is a plausible line item for an agency, in a way that a $295 floor is not.
Athena's page makes a different bet. Unlimited members on every plan, including the free one, is a statement about internal teams — the marketing organisation where six people want to look at the same dashboard and seat licensing is friction. Its Enterprise tier adds a Citation Engine, and its site describes an agentic copilot called Ask Athena. That is a large-in-house-team shape, not a many-small-clients shape.
Both also claim capability beyond measurement. Promptwatch describes Content Agents that analyse what AI cites and generate articles intended to be referenced more often. Athena describes a recommendation engine and, on Enterprise, the Citation Engine. Neither page publishes evidence of outcome for those features, and a comparison page is not the place to guess at one; treat both as claims to be tested during the free tier rather than as facts.
Two ways of being wrong about cost
Credit metering and flat pricing fail differently, and it is worth knowing which failure you would rather live with.
Flat pricing, which is Promptwatch's model, fails by opacity. The invoice never surprises you — $95 is $95 every month — but you cannot tell whether you are using a tenth of what you are paying for or bumping against a ceiling nobody wrote down. Teams on flat plans routinely discover a limit only when they hit it, because the limit was never published. The upside is real, though: finance likes a fixed line item, and a fixed line item is easier to renew than a variable one.
Credit metering, which is Athena's model, fails by unpredictability. When the unit is published but the conversion is not, you can watch a balance fall without being able to forecast when it will run out or what caused it to fall faster this month than last. A team that adds twenty prompts and a new market has no way to predict the credit cost of that decision from the pricing page. The upside is equally real: a credit balance is at least visible, and a free grant of 300 credits is a bounded, checkable offer in a way that "free plan" on its own is not.
Both models are legitimate. Neither page, as written, lets you model a year of usage. If that matters to your purchase, ask each vendor the same question — what does a year of our prompt set cost — and treat the willingness to answer as data about the vendor.
What neither page commits to
There is one more thing missing from both, and it is the thing that decides whether the tool earns its renewal.
Both vendors describe capability beyond measurement. Promptwatch's Content Agents are described as analysing what AI cites and generating articles intended to be referenced more often. Athena describes a recommendation engine and, on Enterprise, a Citation Engine. These are the features that justify the price, because a dashboard that tells you that you are invisible has not changed anything.
Neither page publishes evidence that those features move the number they measure. That is not an accusation; it is a description of what public pricing pages contain in this category. But it does mean the most important claim on either page is the least verifiable one, and the free tiers are the only honest way to test it. Use them for that, rather than for confirming that the dashboard renders.
How to decide
If your budget is under $295 a month, the decision is made for you: Promptwatch is the only one of the two with a paid product in range, and its free Explore plan is the way to find out whether that range is enough.
If your deciding criterion is how many AI models are watched, and you want that commitment attached to a tier rather than to a slogan, Athena's page is the one that gives it to you, and its free plan lets you check the claim before $295 changes hands.
If you are an agency, Promptwatch says it is built for you, in its own words, and prices as though it means it.
And if you need to forecast cost against a known prompt volume before you commit — which is a reasonable thing for a finance-approved purchase to require — neither page will get you there. Ask Promptwatch what a plan includes and ask Athena what a credit costs to spend. Whichever answers plainly has told you more than either pricing page did.
Related reading: Profound vs Peec covers the transparency gap at the enterprise end, Otterly vs Promptwatch puts Promptwatch against a tool that does publish prompt allowances, and Peec vs Athena takes Athena's free tier against a product with no published price at all.
Questions people ask
Sources
Every claim on this page, with the page it came from and the date that page was read. Prices and feature lists change; these are what the source said on the date shown, not timeless facts.
- Promptwatch's pricing page listed four plans, Explore at $0 per month, Essential at $95, Professional at $245 and Business at $579.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Promptwatch's cheapest listed plan, Explore, was priced at $0 per month.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Promptwatch's pricing page did not state a prompt allowance for any plan.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Promptwatch's pricing page did not state a seat or user allowance for any plan.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Promptwatch's site states that it monitors all AI models and names ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude and Grok among them, without splitting coverage by plan.Promptwatch monitors all AI models, ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude, Grok, etc.https://promptwatch.com/ — read 2026-09-03
- Promptwatch's site positions the product for agencies managing AI search for multiple brands.Promptwatch is the best solution for agencies managing AI Search for multiple brands.https://promptwatch.com/ — read 2026-09-03
- Promptwatch's pricing page stated no free trial period or terms; the free tier is a plan rather than a trial.https://promptwatch.com/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Promptwatch's site describes a Content Agents capability that analyses what AI cites and generates articles intended to be referenced more often in AI responses.https://promptwatch.com/ — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page listed an Essential plan at no cost, carrying $25 of free credit and 300 credits.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's Starter plan was listed at $295 per month, with 3,600 credits per month.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page listed 5 AI models on the free Essential plan and visibility across 10 AI models on Starter.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page listed unlimited members on every plan.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page meters plans in credits and does not state how many prompts or checks a credit buys.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's site names ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot, Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral as monitored models, with more available on request.https://athenahq.ai/ — read 2026-09-03
- Athena lists the Athena Citation Engine as an Enterprise feature and describes an agentic copilot named Ask Athena.https://athenahq.ai/ — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's Enterprise tier was listed with custom pricing and no published amount.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03