Peec AI vs Athena, and what a hidden price costs you
One publishes credits and a free tier, the other publishes no price at all. A comparison of Peec AI and Athena on transparency, model coverage, projects, seats and evaluation paths.
Peec AI
An AI visibility tool aimed at SEO and content teams, sold in four named tiers that escalate by number of projects, with the same six assistants tracked across plans and no price published against any tier.
Checked 2026-09-03Athena
by AthenaHQ
An AEO and GEO platform metered in credits, with a free tier carrying a stated credit grant and five models, a published paid tier widening coverage to ten models, and unlimited members on every plan.
Checked 2026-09-03Which one should you choose?
These two tools are close on capability and far apart on how much they will tell you before you commit. Athena publishes a price, a credit allowance, a per-tier model count and a free plan you can run today. Peec publishes a feature matrix with no number anywhere on it. Where the products themselves differ, it is on shape — Peec tiers by projects and countries, Athena tiers by models and meters by credits.
Choose Peec AI when
Choose Peec AI when your work is structured as several distinct projects across several countries, since it publishes three countries per project on every tier and up to five projects on Advanced, and when Looker reporting is part of how your team consumes data.
Choose Athena when
Choose Athena when you want to evaluate before you commit, because its free Essential plan states a credit grant and five models, or when you want the number of AI models watched written against a tier rather than described in prose.
When neither is the right answer
Neither page lets you forecast cost against a prompt volume. Peec publishes no price and Athena publishes credits without saying what a credit buys, so a finance-approved purchase from either vendor starts with a conversation rather than a spreadsheet.
What is specific to this comparison
- Peec AI tiers by projects and countries while Athena tiers by credits and model count, so the two pricing pages do not share a single common unit. There is no row on which their plans can be lined up directly, which is unusual even in this category.
- Athena's free Essential plan states a bounded evaluation, 300 credits across five models, while Peec's page states no free plan and no trial at all. On this pairing, one product can be tried this afternoon and the other cannot be tried without an email.
- Peec AI publishes three countries per project on every tier, including its cheapest, and Athena's pricing page never mentions geography. For a multi-market team, one of these vendors has answered the question in public and the other has not.
- Peec routes reporting through a named Looker integration on Advanced and Enterprise, while Athena's upper tier adds its own Citation Engine instead. One vendor expects the numbers to leave the product, the other expects them to be acted on inside it.
Peec AI vs Athena, criterion by criterion
The comparison that cannot be settled on price
Peec AI and Athena are close enough in ambition that a buyer will reasonably shortlist both. Both watch how a brand appears in AI assistant answers. Both aim at marketing and SEO teams rather than at engineers. Both sell a middle tier and an enterprise tier and describe recommendations on top of measurement.
And then one of them publishes a price and the other does not.
Athena's pricing page, fetched on 3 September 2026, lists a free Essential plan with $25 of free credit, 300 credits, five AI models and unlimited members; a Starter plan at $295 per month with 3,600 credits and visibility across ten AI models; and a custom Enterprise tier adding the Athena Citation Engine and a recommendation engine.
Peec AI's pricing page, fetched the same day, lists Starter, Pro, Advanced and Enterprise. It states one project on Starter, two on Pro and five on Advanced, three countries per project throughout, six tracked assistants across all plans, support by chat on Starter and chat plus email above it, and Looker, API and SSO on Advanced and Enterprise. It carries no currency amount anywhere.
That is the shape of this page, and it is worth naming what it means for the reader rather than editorialising about it. A value comparison between these two products is not available to anyone working from public information. We will not manufacture one, and you should distrust any article that does.
What each page is optimised for
Read the two pages as arguments and they are arguing with different audiences.
Athena's page argues with someone who wants to start now. The free tier is the most prominent thing on it, and it is specified rather than gestured at — a credit grant, a model count, unlimited members. The implicit claim is that the product is good enough that letting you use it for free is a better sales motion than gating it. That is a confident position and, for a category where the only meaningful test is against your own brand, an unusually buyer-friendly one.
Peec's page argues with someone who is scoping a programme. Its rows are about structure: how many projects, how many countries per project, which integrations, which support channel. It reads like a page written for a person who already knows they are going to buy AI visibility tooling and is working out which shape of plan matches their organisation. The absence of a price is consistent with that: a scoping conversation, not a checkout.
Neither of those is wrong. They select for different buyers, and if you recognise yourself in one of those descriptions the comparison is largely decided.
Coverage: eleven named against six consistent
Athena's site names eleven monitored models — ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot, Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral — with more available on request. Its pricing page attaches numbers to tiers: five on the free plan, ten on Starter.
Peec names six: ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Perplexity and Gemini. The list does not change between tiers.
The headline reading is that Athena covers more, and on the published counts that is correct. Two things temper it. The first is that Athena's own free tier watches five, which is fewer than Peec's six, so the advantage only appears once you are paying. The second is that model count is a weak proxy for usefulness: if your buyers use ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews, the eleventh model on a list changes nothing, and a tool that samples six assistants well beats one that samples eleven thinly. Neither page publishes its sampling method, so nobody outside either company can settle that.
What Peec does not name is notable in one specific respect: Claude does not appear on its six. Athena names it. For a category where developers or technical buyers are the audience, that is a concrete gap rather than a matter of degree.
Projects and geography, where Peec's page is the better one
Peec publishes three countries per project on every tier, including the cheapest, and up to five projects on Advanced. That is a clear statement about multi-market and multi-brand work, and it is available to a buyer before any conversation.
Athena's pricing page says nothing about projects or countries. It tiers on credits and models. This does not mean Athena cannot handle several markets — it means the page does not say, and silence is not a limit or a permission, it is a question.
So on the specific requirement "I run three brands across several European markets and I need to know whether the plan covers it", Peec's page answers and Athena's does not. That is the mirror image of the pricing asymmetry, and it is worth stating plainly because the easy version of this comparison would give every row to the vendor that publishes more numbers. Both publish more numbers than the other, on different questions.
Seats, support and the shape of the team
Athena states unlimited members on every plan, including the free one. Peec states no seat allowance at all, differentiating instead by projects and by support channel — chat only on Starter, chat plus email on Pro and Advanced.
Unlimited seats is the friendlier default for a large in-house marketing function where six people want to look at the same numbers and nobody wants to argue about licences. Peec's silence on seats is more ambiguous: it could mean generous, it could mean negotiated. Ask.
Peec's support tiering is a small honest signal in its favour. A page that admits the cheapest plan gets chat-only support is telling you something real about what you are buying, in a category where most pages describe every tier as though it were the flagship.
What a hidden price actually costs a buyer
It is worth being concrete about this, because "they do not publish pricing" is usually written as a complaint and left there.
The first cost is time. A shortlist assembled from public pages takes an afternoon. A shortlist that requires a discovery call per vendor takes three weeks of calendar, and the vendors who answer fastest end up on it regardless of whether they are the best fit. Peec's page structurally disadvantages itself with any buyer who is comparing five tools rather than two.
The second cost is asymmetry of information. When you learn the price on a call, you learn it after the vendor has learned your company size, your budget and your urgency. That is a normal commercial practice and not a scandal, but it does mean the number you are quoted is a number quoted to you, and you have no public anchor to check it against. Athena's $295 is the same $295 for everybody who can read the page.
The third cost is downstream, and it is the one this page cares about most. Articles about Peec's pricing exist, and the numbers in them did not come from Peec's pricing page. When a vendor leaves a blank, the internet fills it, usually with a figure someone was quoted once, sometimes with a figure someone invented. Those numbers then get repeated by AI assistants answering "how much is Peec AI", with no indication that the vendor never said it. If you are evaluating Peec, the only safe assumption is that any price you read elsewhere is unverified.
None of that means Peec is a worse product. Plenty of good software is sold this way, and a scoping conversation genuinely does produce a better-fitted plan than a checkout does. It means the two products cannot be shortlisted by the same process, and if your process requires public numbers, that is a decision the pricing page has already made for you.
Where the two products would actually diverge
Set price aside for a moment and the real product difference is what each vendor thinks it is metering.
Peec meters the organisation. Projects and countries are units of structure — they describe how many separate things you are watching and where. That model scales cleanly for an agency or a group with several brands, and it means your bill goes up when your remit grows rather than when your usage does.
Athena meters the work. Credits are units of consumption, so an intensive month costs more than a quiet one regardless of how many brands you own. That model suits a single team going deep on one brand, and it makes an experiment cheap and a sustained programme expensive in a way project pricing does not.
Neither is better in the abstract. The question to ask yourself is which of the two variables in your situation is going to grow: the number of things you watch, or how hard you watch them. Peec is priced for the first and Athena for the second, and knowing which one describes your next twelve months settles this comparison faster than any feature row will.
What to do with this
If you want to evaluate before you commit, Athena is the only one of the two you can. Its free plan is bounded, specified and pointable at your own brand today, and that alone will decide a great many shortlists.
If your requirement is several projects across several countries, Peec's page answers the question in public and Athena's does not, and that is a good reason to open the conversation Peec's pricing page requires.
If you need to forecast cost against a prompt volume, neither is ready for you yet. Peec publishes no price and Athena publishes credits without a conversion rate, so both routes end in the same place: a call, and two specific questions worth asking on it. What does a credit buy, and what does a Starter plan cost.
Related reading: Profound vs Peec puts Peec against a vendor that does publish prices, Promptwatch vs Athena covers Athena against a cheaper flat-rate ladder, and Scrunch vs Profound shows what a fully published allowance table looks like.
Questions people ask
Sources
Every claim on this page, with the page it came from and the date that page was read. Prices and feature lists change; these are what the source said on the date shown, not timeless facts.
- Peec AI's pricing page named four tiers, Starter, Pro, Advanced and Enterprise, and carried no currency amount against any of them.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI's pricing page listed ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Perplexity and Gemini as tracked across its plans, without splitting them by tier.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI's pricing page listed 1 project on Starter, 2 on Pro and 5 on Advanced.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI's pricing page listed 3 countries per project on every named tier.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI's pricing page differentiated tiers by projects and support channel rather than by seat count, and stated no seat allowance.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI listed Looker integration, API access and SSO against its Advanced and Enterprise tiers.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI's pricing page stated no free trial terms and no free plan.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI's pricing page differentiated support by tier, chats only on Starter and chats plus email on Pro and Advanced.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Peec AI's pricing page did not state a prompt allowance for any tier.https://peec.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page listed a free Essential plan carrying $25 of free credit, 300 credits and 5 AI models.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's Starter plan was listed at $295 per month with 3,600 credits per month and visibility across 10 AI models.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page listed unlimited members on every plan.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page meters plans in credits and does not state how many prompts or checks a credit buys.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's site names ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot, Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral as monitored models, with more available on request.https://athenahq.ai/ — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's Enterprise tier was listed with custom pricing, adding the Athena Citation Engine and a recommendation engine.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03
- Athena's pricing page tiers on credits and model count and does not state a number of projects or countries against any plan.https://athenahq.ai/pricing — read 2026-09-03